Innovate@UCLA (formerly known as IS Associates) began at the Anderson School of Management to create networking and education opportunities between the school and the IT community in Southern California. The organization transitioned to the UCLA Office of Advanced Research Computing (formerly known as the UCLA Office of Information Technology) in 2013.

The organization was founded in 1978 by faculty members, Lew Leeburg and Ephraim McLean. Leeburg, a three-time UCLA alumnus, used his contacts and connections from his time as a senior executive at IBM to recruit tech companies into the organization. During his tenure as the Executive Director, the membership grew from just a handful of members to around 45 member companies.

Below is a list of Board Chairs since the organization’s inception:

Past Chairs                                           Years Served                                  Company (at time of service)                                                                        
Bhupesh Arora2023-PresentMagellan Midstream Partners
Thomas Phelps2021-2023Laserfiche
Bill Martin2020-2021AEG Worldwide
Theresa Miller  2019-2020 Lionsgate                        
Michael Keithley  2018-2019 United Talent Agency                        
Ron Guerrier  2017-2018    Farmers Insurance                        
Jim Rinaldi        2016-2017        JPL                            
Bill Miller            2015-2016           Broadcom                             
Rick Hopfer                2014-2015             Molina Healthcare                                  
Susan Nakashima2013-2014Southern California Edison
Rob Devers2012-2013Avery Dennison
Steven Davis2011-2012Walt Disney Studios
Cindy McKenzie2010-2011Fox Entertainment Group
Janet Parr2008-2009Countrywide
John Byrnes2007-2008California National Bank
Lynn Wolf2006-2007Northrop Grumman Corp.
Rich Hoffman2005-2006Hyundai Information Service NA
Don Olender2004-2005Wells Fargo Capital Finance
Al Strong2003-2004Commercial Programming Systems, Inc.
Susan Nakashima2002-2003Adecco Technical
Patrick Zorsch2001-2002Countrywide
Kim Spenchian2000-2001Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studios, Inc.
Tom Swysgood1999-2000Sun Microsystems Computer Co.
Jerry Thode1998-1999Ernst & Young LLP
Mary Kay Kotzman1997-1998City of Los Angeles
Mary Kay Kotzman1996-1997City of Los Angeles
Stan Johnson1995-1996Port of Los Angeles
David King1994-1995Korn/Ferry
George Brenner1993-1994MCA Universal
George Brenner1992-1993MCA Universal
Edward N. Altman1991-1992Paramount Pictures
Edward N. Altman1990-1991Twentieth Century Fox
Edward N. Altman1989-1990Security Pacific Bank
Boyd Haigler1988-1989ARCO Products
Boyd Haigler1987-1988ARCO Products
Vic Janulaitis1986-1987Positive Support Review 
Michael Erdei1985-1986Hughes Aircraft
Charles Tucker1984-1985Twentieth Century Fox
Patrick McNally1983-1984Andersen Consulting
Robert Pomeroy1982-1983Southern California Gas Co.
Bob Foster1981-1982Xerox Data Systems
Bill Taubert1980-1981Hunt Wesson Foods
DuWayne Peterson1979-1980Security Pacific Bank
Lewis Leeburg1978-1979IBM Corporation